Schedule a Free Consultation|
Call 815-740-4025

7 Reasons You Could Lose Your Driver’s License in Illinois

 Posted on August 23, 2018 in Uncategorized

Many people do not realize is that driving is a privilege, not a right. There is no federal or state constitutional rule that says you must be allowed to drive. In Illinois, there are many reasons why a person can lose their driving privileges. We take our driver’s license for granted and often do not realize how important the ability to drive is until it is gone. Understanding what can cost you your license is the first step in protecting your ability to drive.

1. DUI

The most common way drivers lose their driving privileges is by being arrested for driving under the influence (DUI). In Illinois, a person’s driver’s license is suspended if they fail a chemical test to determine their blood alcohol content (BAC) or if they refuse a chemical test. Failing a chemical test means the person had a BAC of .08% or more or a THC (the active chemical in marijuana) content of 5 nanograms or more per milliliter of blood. Failing a chemical test carries a six-month license suspension, and refusing a chemical test will result in an automatic one-year license suspension.

2. Failure to Appear

Your license can also be suspended if you were issued a traffic citation and you did not show up on your court date or otherwise failed to take care of the citation. In order to reinstate your license, you must go to court to respond to the original citation, pay the reinstatement fee of $70, and attend a hearing with a Secretary of State hearing officer.

3. Parking Suspensions

If you have been issued 10 or more parking violations, and you have not paid them, you could lose your license. The parking municipality will request the suspension from the Secretary of State, who will then issue the suspension. The fee to reinstate your license after this type of suspension is $70.

4. Automated Traffic Violations Suspension

Five or more unpaid citations for automated traffic violations can mean a suspension of driving privileges. Automated traffic violations are those such as being photographed while running a red light. The reinstatement fee for this type of suspension is $70.

5. Graduated Driver’s License Violations

Teen drivers have certain rules that they must abide by, and breaking them could result in a license suspension. Violating nighttime driving restrictions, obtaining moving violation convictions, or being guilty of the illegal consumption, purchase, or possession of alcohol will result in a suspended license.

6. Failure to Pay Child Support

Illinois has strict laws about paying court-ordered child support, and one of the consequences is the loss of driving privileges. If you are more than 90 days behind on your child support payments, your driving privileges will be suspended and will only be reinstated when you comply with the child support orders.

7. Tollway Violations or Evasions

When you do not pay a toll, you have a seven-day grace period in which you can pay the toll online. If you do not pay it within those seven days, it becomes a violation. After five or more violations, your license will be suspended, and you will still be required to pay the toll amounts and all associated fees and fines.

Protect Your Driving Privileges With Help From a Joliet Driver’s License Reinstatement Lawyer

If you have found yourself in any of these situations, it is very important that you immediately contact a Will County driver’s license reinstatement attorney right away. The Law Offices of Jack L. Zaremba, P.C. can help you fight for your right to drive. Contact our office at 815-740-4025 to set up a free consultation.

Share this post:
badge badge
badge badge badge badge badge
Back to Top