Schedule a Free Consultation|
Call 815-740-4025

DUI Charges in Illinois

 Posted on March 06, 2019 in Uncategorized

If you have been charged with driving under the influence, you may be lost and unsure of what to do next. Penalties for an Illinois DUI can include the suspension of your driver’s license, hefty fines, and possible jail time. Subsequent DUI arrests can result in felony DUI charges and potential imprisonment. As with any criminal charge, the first step is to educate yourself about the law you have allegedly broken and to reach out to an experienced local DUI attorney. An experienced attorney will know how to form a solid defense against the charges.

Police Always Ask You to Take a Chemical Test

Many DUI cases can hinge on the results of a blood alcohol content (BAC) chemical test. There are a few different ways law enforcement can test a suspect’s BAC level. In Illinois, urine, blood, and breath are the most common ways, with a breath test being the most common. Blood screenings for BAC are considered more invasive, so they are only used when there is reason to believe a breath test won’t suffice; for example, if there is an allegation of drug use a blood or urine test would likely be requested. Another example of when a blood test might be requested is if there was grave injury done to another driver or individual due to your operation of a motor vehicle.

Driving Over the Legal Limit

Most people know that the “magic number” when it comes to alcohol impairment and driving is 0.08 percent. By law, a person is legally impaired when their BAC is 0.08 percent or higher. Drivers under the legal drinking age face a different set of laws regarding alcohol. If a driver under age the age of 21 has a BAC of even 0.01 percent, they may be issued a Zero Tolerance suspension of their license. For drivers under age 18, there are can be additional consequences to driving intoxicated. It is important that you reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney right away if you have been arrested.

Contact a Joliet, Illinois DUI Attorney for Help

If you have been charged with driving under the influence or been issued a license suspension due to alcohol, you could be facing jail time and other penalties. For help, call an experienced Will County criminal defense lawyer. Call 815-740-4025 to schedule a free consultation with the Law Offices of Jack L. Zaremba, P.C. today.

Share this post:
badge badge
badge badge badge badge badge
Back to Top