Schedule a Free Consultation|
Call 815-740-4025

Driving Under the Influence of Drugs

Posted on in

Are you facing charges of driving under the influence of drugs? You are not alone. Nearly 44 percent of drivers in fatal crashes have tested positive for drugs and in some cases, drivers were under the influence of more than one drug. It does not matter if the drugs were prescribed or illegal, you could face serious legal consequences if you are convicted.

How Drugs Interfere with Your Ability to Drive

Drugs such as marijuana, opioids, cocaine, and prescription drugs have a profound effect on a person’s brain. These are some ways in which driving under the influence of drugs can interfere with a person’s ability to drive:

  • Reaction Time
  • Judgment
  • Driver’s motor skills
  • Perception
  • Attention

Implied Consent

In Illinois under the implied consent law when you operate a motor vehicle you automatically give consent to a breathalyzer, blood, or urine test. However, as we have discussed in previous articles, you can refuse field sobriety testing and refuse all chemical tests, including the breath test. It’s only in certain circumstances that an officer can compel you to provide a chemical test, typically in Type A accident cases and or in cases of a court order from a judge. A refusal to complete chemical tests may impact the suspension of your license for a longer period, but this suspension can always be contested in court.

The Search for Drugs

If the driver is arrested for DUI, the officer will search the vehicle for drugs and or any other contraband. If they find illegal drugs or drug paraphernalia, the driver will face additional charges, which can be a felony, on top of the DUI charges.


Illinois penalties for DUI convictions are harsh. Even a first-time conviction carries the possibility of jail time because the crime is charged as a Class A misdemeanor. This means that if you are convicted, in addition to the loss of your license, you could be sentenced to up to one year in jail and will have to pay a fine of up to $2,500 plus court costs. Most drivers are sentenced to supervision or community service instead of jail for a first-time offense. However, aggravating factors can increase the criminal penalties for a first-time DUI.

Contact a Will County DUI Defense Lawyer

If you have been arrested for driving under the influence of drugs, you need a skilled Grundy and Will County DUI defense lawyer to fight your case. Call the Law Offices of Jack L. Zaremba, P.C. today at 815-740-4025 for a free consultation.

badge badge
badge badge badge badge badge
Back to Top