Schedule a Free Consultation|
Call 815-740-4025

Paperwork Needed for Your First DUI Defense Attorney Consultation

 Posted on March 14, 2018 in Uncategorized

If you have been arrested for DUI, it is common to feel too scared or overwhelmed to take immediate action. Yet, in order to get the best possible outcome, you will need to begin preparing for your court date as quickly as possible.

One of the first things you must do is read the four important documents you were given by the police prior to your release. They contain critical information about what you must do between now and your court date. You will also need these documents for your initial attorney consultation.

1. Your Ticket(s)

Most Illinois police departments (excluding Chicago and Cook County) use the Illinois Uniform Traffic Ticket form for issuing tickets. The Ticket form will indicate the specific offenses you allegedly committed. You may be cited for traffic violations such as speeding or running a stop light in addition to DUI. The ticket will also state the date on which you must appear in court.

According to Illinois state law, the arresting officer must issue you a formal Ticket prior to requesting that you submit to an evidentiary breath or blood tests.

2. Breath or Blood Test Warning

Following your arrest for DUI, you will be taken to a police station and asked to submit to a breathalyzer test, which will measure your blood alcohol concentration. You may also be asked to submit to other tests, such as blood or urine tests to detect the presence of intoxicants such as marijuana or narcotics.

Before administering any tests, however, the police are required to warn you of the applicable Illinois law. This warning explains that your driver’s license will be automatically suspended if you refuse testing or if you test over the legal limit for intoxicants. You will be asked to sign this form acknowledging that you received the required warning.

3. Notice of Statutory Summary Suspension.

The arresting officer will typically hold onto your Illinois driver’s license, and you will be given a Notice of Statutory Summary Suspension, which explains that your license to drive will be suspended on the 46th day after your arrest.

You will also be given a Receipt to Drive, which takes the place of your driver’s license for the next 45 days. Assuming your driver’s license was, in fact, valid at the time of your arrest, you may continue driving for the next 45 days as usual. Whenever you drive during this time, you must carry the Receipt to Drive with you in place of your driver’s license.

The Notice of Suspension will also show:

  • The reasons you were arrested for DUI.
  • Your breath and/or blood test results.
  • The length of your suspension.
  • Whether you surrendered your driver’s license.

4. Your Bond Slip

The bond slip contains several important facts:

  • The amount of bond you paid, if any. Alternatively, it may state that you were released on your own recognizance.
  • The conditions of your release. You must be sure to comply with those conditions, or your bond could be revoked, and you could be held in jail until your case is concluded. Two typical bond conditions are (1) you are not to leave the state of Illinois until your case has been concluded, and (2) you are not to consume any illegal drugs.
  • The date, time, and location of your first court appearance.

Protect Your Rights with an Experienced Will County DUI Defense Attorney

If you have been charged with DUI in Illinois, you should consult a knowledgeable Joliet DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible. The Law Offices of Jack L. Zaremba, P.C. can assist you in preparing a DUI defense, and you should bring the documents described above to your free, confidential consultation. Contact our office at 815-740-4025 today to schedule your consultation.

Share this post:
badge badge
badge badge badge badge badge
Back to Top