Schedule a Free Consultation|
Call 815-740-4025

Penalties for Driving With a Suspended or Revoked License in Illinois

 Posted on October 08, 2018 in Uncategorized

There are many ways you can have your license suspended or revoked in Illinois - maybe you failed a DUI chemical test, refused to take one, or just accumulated too many points on your driving record. Having your license suspended or revoked can be stressful and troublesome, but the last thing you want to do is be caught behind the wheel while you are not legally allowed to drive. This can lead to longer suspension or revocation periods, expensive fines, and, in some cases, even jail time. If you have a suspended or revoked license, there are ways to get your driving privileges reinstated, but unless it is an absolute emergency and you have no other means of transportation, you should not operate a motor vehicle without a valid driver’s license.

First Offense

If you are caught driving with a suspended or revoked license, you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor the first offense. This means you could be facing up to a year in prison and fines up to $2,500. If your license was suspended or revoked due to a situation involving reckless homicide or aggravated DUI, a first offense is a Class 4 felony.

Second or Subsequent Offenses

As with most crimes, the more times you commit it, the harsher the penalties become. If you are caught a second or subsequent time driving with a suspended or revoked license, you could be charged with a Class 4 felony, meaning you could be facing one to three years in prison.

Other Penalties

It is possible for you to have multiple suspensions or revocations at one time, meaning one suspension or revocation does not override the other. Upon a conviction of driving with a suspended or revoked license, the Illinois Secretary of State will extend your license suspension or revocation by the same amount of time as the original suspension or revocation period. You also will not be able to have a license issued to you for at least one year after the date of your conviction. Upon a conviction, you could be required to serve at least 30 days in jail or complete 300 hours of community service even for a misdemeanor offense.

Contact a Joliet Driver’s License Suspension Lawyer

If you have had your license suspended or revoked, you know how much difficulty this can bring to your everyday life. You no longer have the freedom to get yourself to the places you need to be. Driving with a suspended or revoked license can result in a longer suspension or revocation period and can come with strict penalties. If you need help getting your license back, you should get into contact with a skilled Will County driver’s license reinstatement attorney. The Law Offices of Jack L. Zaremba, P.C. can help you get back behind the wheel. Call our office at 815-740-4025 to set up a free consultation.

Share this post:
badge badge
badge badge badge badge badge
Back to Top