Schedule a Free Consultation|
Call 815-740-4025

What Are the Penalties in Illinois for Underage DUI?

 Posted on August 20, 2022 in Uncategorized

Over the past several decades, it has been difficult enough convincing adults not to drink and drive. According to the Illinois Secretary of State's office, more than 20,000 drivers were charged with DUI in 2020, with 90 percent of those drivers losing their driving privileges. However, convincing teens not to drink and drive can sometimes be even more difficult. What many teens do not realize is that the penalties for anyone under 21 for DUI can be even more severe than for adults.

Standard DUI Penalties

Under Illinois law, any driver who has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent is considered to be driving under the influence. If the driver is found guilty of a first-time offense, they will face the loss of their driver’s license for one year, a fine of up to $2,500, and potential jail time of up to one year. A second offense within a five-year period carries a loss of license for five years, a minimum of five days in jail or 240 hours of community service, and a fine of up to $2,500.

In addition to criminal penalties, a driver arrested for DUI also faces administrative penalties from the Secretary of State’s office under Illinois’ implied consent laws. For a first-time offender, a failed BAC test will result in a six-month license suspension. If the driver refused to submit to a chemical test, then the license suspension will last for one year.

Zero Tolerance

Illinois has zero-tolerance laws for underage DUI, and the penalties for conviction are harsher than standard DUI convictions. As opposed to the standard BAC limit of 0.08 percent, an underage driver can face charges if they have a BAC of more than 0.00 percent. A conviction for a first-time underage offender carries the same penalties as a standard DUI conviction, but a license suspension will last for two years instead of one.

There are also serious administrative penalties for minors under the state’s implied consent laws. An underage driver will lose their driving privileges for three months if their BAC registers anything higher than 0.00 percent. A second offense will result in a one-year suspension. Refusal to submit to a BAC test will result in loss of license for six months for a first offense and a two-year suspension for a second offense.

Call a Will County Underage DUI Defense Attorney Today

If your teen has been arrested and charged with DUI, do not delay in contacting a Will County underage DUI lawyer. The consequences of a conviction can be severe. Call the Law Offices of Jack L. Zaremba, P.C. at 815-740-4025 to schedule a free consultation.

Share this post:
badge badge
badge badge badge badge badge
Back to Top